understanding Delegates and Events

elsheepo

Programming Experience
Beginner
So I've been studying C# on my own for about 3 months now. I'm going through the Murach's C# 2015 textbook. I've reached Chapter 13, which exposes me to indexers, delegates, events, and operators. I've followed along easily enough up to this point, but these delegates and events, more so the delegates confuse me terribly. I've literally been stuck on this topic for the past two weeks, and am just as confused about these things as the day I started. I've participated in several hours worth of IRC dialog on freenode's ##csharp channel, I have read about 10 different articles, watched several hours worth of youtube videos, and I am completely baffled. If anyone can please, please help me understand what in the heck, this delegate is doing, and how the event is related to it, any information or explanation at all, would be incredibly appreciated. Here's the code..

This is the CustomerList class, which defines the fields, properties, methods, etc of a CustomerList object, to be instantiated at some point in the future. I understand that the delegate defines a "signature" which is its return type, and parameters, and that the only methods that can be used by a delegate must have an identical "signature". I understand that when the Add() and Remove() methods are called, they raise the Changed event, which is somehow associated with the delegate....
C#:
using System.Collections.Generic;

namespace CustomerMaintenance
{
    public class CustomerList
	{
		private List<Customer> customers;

public delegate void ChangeHandler(CustomerList customers);
        public event ChangeHandler Changed;

public CustomerList()
		{
            customers = new List<Customer>();
		}

public int Count => customers.Count;

public Customer this[int i]
		{
			get
			{
				return customers[i];
			}
			set
			{
				customers[i] = value;
				Changed(this);
			}
		}