Why string has been changed to non-nullable in C# 8?

Kathiresan Moorthy

Programming Experience
10+
Till C# 7, string can accept null values, why the concept of non-nullable is introduced in C# 8. This sounds weird. It doesn't makes sense to use "string?". Some one please clarify.

If the idea is to avoid just null references. As a C# developer, I've noticed most of the C# developers handle string checking for null always. So this feature doesn't seem to be really helpful, rather introduced a confusion. I've seen Null reference exceptions mostly when objects are referred without checking if it's null.

IMO, I may be missing the greatness of this new feature, but this really introduce complexity in understanding what string type is. string basically should accept a "null". Non-nullable string doesn't makes sense.

I've just barely read about this before, this article explains it I guess: Design with nullable reference types | Microsoft Docs
Here are some quotes from it:
C# 8 introduces nullable reference types, which complement reference types the same way nullable value types complement value types.
You can use these new types to more clearly express your design intent: some variables must always have a value, others may be missing a value.
You must opt into the nullable reference types feature, even in C# 8 projects. That's because once the feature is turned on, existing reference variable declarations become non-nullable reference types
As I understand, if you enable this feature all reference types (including string class) becomes non-nullable, and you must express any reference type you want to allow nulls with the ? type marker.

Also some more to read here: Nullable reference types | Microsoft Docs

Non-nullable string doesn't makes sense.