Question DMX plugin

amc85

Programming Experience
Beginner
I'm working on a project trying to sync up lights in Unity game engine with real world lights controlled via DMX. I'm currently working on faking it by animating the Unity light to match a real world light as a kind of first phase prototype but I wanted to gain a bit of knowledge on what would be involved in doing it for real i.e. creating a plugin for Unity that could use incoming DMX data to control elements of the scene

I'm an animator so I am a total novice when it comes to programming (I know a very small amount of python) and would not be attempting to write any code myself but I would like to try and understand how this would be achieved.

Is C# the right language for this? I assume so given unity plugins are written in C#, a better question might be is this possible in C#? I believe ArtNet is a protocol for sending DMX data over ip networks. Does anyone have any experience with ArtNet? Would it be necessary to us ArtNet to communicate with Unity? How big of a task would it be to write a plugin such as this for someone with the necessary experience?

DMX communicates over EIA-485 which is a serial scheme and it looks like your hardware interface will be USB-485 adapter. Most likely it'll use a standard serial port to USB driver so you just have to talk to a serial port. That's fairly easy from Visual Studio using callbacks (you start a separate thread which monitors the serial port until a condition you set is met then it calls your code to deal with the contents). I've never used unity for serial comms but I imagine its probably the same thing.