Matrices and object field relative speed.

SilverShaded

Programming Experience
10+
Some background, im an engineer not a professional programmer so apologies for any dumb questions. I have a program that is calculation intensive and i want to speed it up. My understanding (from reading forums) was that C# is optimised for Jagged Arrays, but my test below seems to say not. If i'm doing something wrong please let me know, also the test which uses the tray object (could be any moderately complex object) seems too fast, is there a problem with the code?

The relative speeds im getting (in debug) are; (Note: I just realised the times include array initislisation, but thats ok, the arrays will be cleared or re-initialised many times in the program).

Object/field access 0ms
Jagged Array access 87ms
Normal Array access 12ms

If i dont count initialising the arrays i get 0, 7 and 7 ms respectively.

C#:
var watch = Stopwatch.StartNew();
double res=0;
int count = 10000;
Tray tray = column[0][4];
for (int i = 0; i < count; i++)
{
    tray = column[0][4];
    tray.T = i;
    res = tray.T;
}
watch.Stop();

var elapsedMs = watch.ElapsedMilliseconds;
Debug.WriteLine("Column Solution Time1 ms: " + elapsedMs.ToString() + " " + res.ToString());
MessageBox.Show("Object Field" + elapsedMs.ToString());

watch = Stopwatch.StartNew();
double res2 = 0;
int count2 = count;
double[][] tray1 = new double[count2][];
for (int i = 0; i < count2; i++)
    tray1 = new double[count2];

for (int i = 0; i < count2; i++)
{
    tray1 = i;
    res2 = tray1;
}
watch.Stop();

elapsedMs = watch.ElapsedMilliseconds;
Debug.WriteLine("Column Solution Time2 ms: " + elapsedMs.ToString() +" "+ res2.ToString());
MessageBox.Show("Jagged Matix" + elapsedMs.ToString());

watch = Stopwatch.StartNew();
double res3 = 0;
int count3 = count;
double[,] tray3 = new double[count3,count3];

for (int i = 0; i < count3; i++)
{
    tray3[i,i] = i;
    res3 = tray3[i,i];
}
watch.Stop();

elapsedMs = watch.ElapsedMilliseconds;