Answered need help with the random method

SGD2020

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am new to programming and C# and i wanted to create an app for my friend's son to help him with grammar and vocab ,,,, i was thinking of making a random mab libs generator i just cant figure out how to randomize stories rather than numbers if that is even possible any help will be greatly appreciated and thank you in advance

Whenever you want to do anything random, it means generating a random number and then using that number in whatever manner is appropriate for your specific scenario. Often times, that means creating a list of items and then generating a random index into that list, e.g. you can select a person at random from a group by putting all the names in a list and then generating a random number greater than or equal to zero and less than the number of names.

What exactly do you mean by "randomize stories"? Do you mean having a list of stories and selecting a random one, or do you maybe mean having a story template and then inserting a random noun here and a random verb there? I'm guessing the latter, but the principle is still the same. You would have a list of nouns and you would generate a random index into that list and then insert the noun at that index into your template.

E.g.
C#:
var nouns = new[] { "ball", "horse", "artichoke" };
var verbs = new[] { "bounce", "ride", "eat" };
var names = new[] { "Peter", "Paul", "Mary" };

var rng = new Random();

var nounIndex = rng.Next(0, nouns.Length);
var verbIndex = rng.Next(0, verbs.Length);
var nameIndex = rng.Next(0, names.Length);

Console.WriteLine($"I will {verbs[verbIndex]} the {nouns[nounIndex]} with {names[nameIndex]}.");