Guess the number

MrDevo

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi. I am pretty new to C# and trying to get this game to work. I got a textbox where I type the number that I have in mind and the computer must guess it using bisection algorithm but I don't understand why the loop won't work since the condition is true. Here's my code. The biggeest and the minimum have their values set to "0" and "100".

private void btnGuess_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
    bool guess = true;
    Convert.ToInt32(txtNumber.Text);
    nrToGuess = int.Parse(txtNumber.Text);
    DialogResult dialogResult;

do
    {
        average = minimum + biggest / 2;
        dialogResult= MessageBox.Show("Is your number" + " " + average+ " ? ", "Question", MessageBoxButtons.YesNo);

if (dialogResult== DialogResult.No && average > nrToGuess)
        {
            biggest = average;
            average = biggest + minimum / 2;
        }
        else if (dialogResult == DialogResult.No && average < nrToGuess)
        {
            minimum = average;
            average = biggest + minimum / 2;
        }
        else if (dialogResult == DialogResult.Yes)
        {
            dialogResult=MessageBox.Show("Congratulations! You guessed the number!");
            break;
        }
        else
       {
           Application.Exit();
       }
    } while (guess);

I would really appreciate any help given. Thank you very much!

Last edited by a moderator:
First things first, when posting code snippets, please paste them as plain text inside formatting tags. I have fixed your post and, as you can see, the code is much easier to read. Indenting in particular is critical to make code readable.

Secondly, please don't just say that something doesn't work. We don't know what's in your head. Explain what you expect to see and what you actually see.